top of page
Writer's pictureTheduskyshadow

The Dead Duchess ( the end )

‘Anurag, I am going to ask you this straight and I want a straight answer….. Did you kill Arya?’ Anurag didn’t reply, he stood there listening to her sister. ‘I mean I know you didn’t, but what was that about you and that swimming pool girl then Arya dating a kid, I mean what was all that?’

‘Simran, you know Arya and I started dating at a very young age and whole my life I just dated one person and Arya did the same, but slowly it became suffocating. We didn’t know what it felt like to be with someone else. It was just an experiment, we decided to give each other space and respect privacy. But then I heard the rumors of Arya dating a boy, it shattered me, but I knew everything that I would do would just push her away. So, I started spending time at the swimming pool, there I met, Sheila. Sheila is smart, she is beautiful, but most importantly she agreed to a causal relation, which I needed at that time.’ Simran sighed in relief. ‘Then two months later, Arya came to me and said, she was ready for more and we got engaged’ Simran was surprised to hear that, but she also understood the situation.

Rakshak knocked on the door, Simran asked him to enter the room.

‘What can I help you with madam?’

‘Rakshak, you were closer to Arya’s mother. How close were you to Arya?’ Simran didn’t waste much time and asked directly.

‘I met her the first time when Arya’s mother invited me to their Diwali celebration, four years ago. Her mother wanted us to know each other. And to be honest, I really liked her, she was kind, pretty and brilliant. She was not an obvious beauty, but she was so charming and that mouth of hers, she knew when and what to talk.’ His eyes became wet.

‘Did you love her?’

‘oh… yes of course. She was one of my best friends.’

‘No, I mean did you love her, love her?’ Simran did the quotes.

Rakshak laughed ‘No, I am gay, Madam.’

‘oh… that’s… Ummm.. great……. You can leave and please send Lila and Priya.’

Rakshak turned and said, ‘Don’t tell anyone about it, not much people get it’

Simran nodded in agreement.

Lila and Priya entered the room. Simran asked them to sit, they were looking at each other with worried eyes.

‘Lila, you practically spent your whole day with Arya, knowing what she was doing. How did you feel when she stole your boyfriend? Did she know you two were together?’

‘No, madam. She didn’t know because we were not a couple.’

‘But you loved that garage boy right?’

‘Madam, when you work at a place like this, where you spend 14 hours a day, 7 days a week, there is nothing much left in your social life. And you try to find everything within these four walls. I did the same. But that boy never liked me the way I liked him….. I envied Arya, but she was helping me in a way, she kept him hanging and it pushed him closer to me. Their relation was benefiting me.’

Priya didn’t say a word the whole time and Simran didn’t want to ask her anything. Priya was never on her list anyways.

‘You both can leave. Thank you. And please send in Khushboo.’

‘She didn’t come today’ Priya replied.

‘hmm ok then please send in Ram Lal Ji’

‘He is absent too’ Priya replied again.

‘Okay. Thank you.’

Simran sat in that room which was once used by her father for interrogations. He was a detective and she was filling her father’s shoes. She always wanted to sit in that chair, but she didn’t know her best friend had to die for it. After 40 mins Simran came out of the room and went straight to the Queen’s room.


‘Mother, how are you?’ Simran entered her mother’s room.

‘Simran, I was not expecting you. You need something?’

‘Yes mother, I do need something, I need the truth.’

‘I am afraid. I cannot help you with that.’

‘You sure maa? Then why did Sashi Ji killed Arya?’

Queen sat on her bed. She sighed, ‘Arya, that sweet little poison, she manipulated everything. You know The Bhawan always had its secrets, but they were kept inside the four walls. Your father, before marrying me, he was a socialite, a womanizer. He had many affairs, with the Bhawan staff girls, his mother was not happy about his behavior as well, but he married a royal and it was all water under the bridge.’

Queen stood and walked towards Simran, ‘then your father was given the position of the King, and I was the first lady. Although we live in an independent country, as a Royal family, our presence is expected in all the matters of the district. I accompanied your father, the king. But then he died from illness, and I had to stand up. Sashi was there with me, she helped me with every step. And I knew you needed a Sashi too, I had seen Arya many times in the Bhawan with her mother, I asked her mother to introduce you two. Within no time you were inseparable, I was happy for you. And then I saw her with your brother, it didn’t bother me for a few years, but then started fights, and dirty politics, and talks and gossips that spread in the whole town…….. I knew that girl was a bad influence on all.’

‘It gave other staff girls and boys a door to argue, fight, and talk bad about the future King, your brother. And I knew as long as she stayed in the Bhawan, she was going to be a bad influence. I had to let her go, but your brother was madly in love with her, they announced their engagement without even consulting me. I knew she would ruin the reputation and image of our Royal family. I had no other choice.’

‘You always have another choice, Maa.’

‘I did not. I had to save my son, my Bhawan, and our Royal legacy. And who do you think influenced you into marrying a non-royal? She made you do this.’

‘No mother it was my decision.’

‘Fine. You can hand me over to the Police if you like, but Sashi only did this for me and she should not be involved.’

‘No Maa, nobody is going to jail. I know Anurag is not ready to take the command and as you said, you did this to save the Bhawan. The least I can do is to spare you, the Bhawan is my home too.’

‘I knew you were my only true-born child.’ Queen took pride in her words.

‘I am going to take your words, I am the right person to take the crown.’

60 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page